About Me

My photo
Corvallis, OR, United States
I have been making art and design for decades. I have been a graphic artist, jewelry, furniture and clothing designer, painter and printmaker, art facilitator and teacher. I’ve exhibited my artwork in numerous group and solo shows in the US and Europe. I am originally from Queens, New York where I received a Bachelor's Degree in Anthropology from Queens College. I hold a Master of Arts Degree in Humanities from California State University Dominguez Hills and a Practice-based Doctoral Research Degree in Fine Art-Painting from De Montfort University in Leicester, England. I also hold another Master of Arts Degree in Education. I have taught studio art and design, art history, research, and education for over 12 years at the graduate and undergraduate levels, online and on ground. I recently closed my studio in Asheville, NC where I facilitated art and design workshops for 5 years. I now live in Corvallis, Oregon where I continue to make art. I have 4 children and 3 grandchildren.

Sunday, December 2, 2018

New adventures await in Oregon

The Urban Art Retreat and Studio is closed (pictured).

It has been magical!  

Initiating and being part of the Montford Artwalk, showing my work at the Asheville Airport, facilitating workshops and hosting visiting artists/instructors at the studio are just a few of the reasons why I feel privileged to have been part of a truly fantastic art community in Asheville, North Carolina for 5 years. The people who came for workshops at the studio were so wonderful and talented. I feel fortunate to have met them all and had the opportunity to work with them to explore their talent and find their inner artist.

I am now on to new and exciting things in Corvallis, Oregon. The Pacific Northwest is breathtakingly beautiful and inspiring-new artwork is on the horizon. 

In 2019 I will be giving workshops at the Corvallis Arts Center and will be returning to school  for a Master of Natural Resources (MNR) degree at Virginia Tech.

 I miss you, Don.